The 10 Best SL Places for 2008 (Part 1)

Posted: December 22, 2008 in Second Life
Tags: , ,

This past year, I have been busy checking out as much of the whole SL scene as I could, exploring mirror worlds from around the world, and fantasy worlds from many genre’s. I have blogged about over 100 different places in the past year. I thought it would be fun to revisit many of these and force myself to choose 10 I liked the most. I’m trying to avoid places that have been around¬†for a while¬†(sorry Svarga) and places now closed to the public (sorry Privateer Space).

Here are the first five in random order, because trying to narrow the list to 10 was hard enough, let alone trying to rank them.

Straylight
Owned By Kriss Lehmann
Originally posted: Surreal Places

If you don’t know about Straylight, where the hell have you been? One of the most beautiful and influential “nature” builds in SL. This is the kind of place that SL vets take their newbie friend to, to show off what SL is all about. Much of what you see is for sale a the Botanical Gardens.

More Info: Video Web Site Article Pictures

Visit Mexico 3
Owned By Visit Mexico – Valiant Strangelove
Originally posted: Real Places North America

This is part of a 3 server build commissioned by the Mexican Tourism Board. I like server 3 the best because it reminds me most of the real Mexico. You have towns of cobblestone streets and Spanish Colonial architecture built along side Pre-Colombian Mayan ruins. You can explore on horseback by picking up a horse from Visit Mexico 2.

More Info: Video Article Pictures

InSilico
Owned by Skillz Hak
Originally posted: Sci-Fi Worlds

Every time I visit this dystopian urban city, it gets more and more elaborate. Shops, clubs, video walls, laser beams that follow you around. It is a just plain awesome build. Its constant presence on SL’s new “Showcase” tab says that I am not the only one that thinks so.

More Info: Video Website Article Pictures

Milano Vera
Owned By MyItaly Annemarie Perenti
Originally posted: Real Places Europe

The signature cathedral in Milan, Italy has a few representations in Second Life (you can see another on the Milano server not related to this one), but the Italia Milano mirrors a big chunk of the city, with its great romantic architecture. This definitely ranks as one of my favorite “mirror worlds”. It also has a huge community of English and Italian speakers supporting it.

More Info: Video Pictures Website (mostly in Italian)

Aggro

Aggro
Owned By Verkin Raven
Originally posted: There be Dragons

The beauty of this place is in its simplicity. This single server build is designed to look like a simple mountain valley, complete with forest, mountain stream, waterfalls and snow covered peaks poking up along the tree line. In the forest a simple log cabin watches over the pristine valley. It would look like any normal mountain valley except for the rock floating in the sky the way rocks normally don’t, and also the presence of dragons. A family of dragons, apparently the cause of the nearby forest fire, are available for sale here.

More Info: Video Website Article Pictures

Next, Part II the final five!

Comments
  1. Trew Lane says:

    Dear Ariane, trust me, I am NOT fond of blogs at all. But I do read yours and you have inspired me several times to go and see amazing worlds or games. Please do not cease to post your excellent work! Thank you, Trew.

  2. /me anxiously awaits Part II the final five! Since they are from Ariane they are sure to be good!

  3. Ariane says:

    Friday, I’ll post part 2.

  4. Archie Lukas says:

    Excellent, I don’t know those places I shall go explore.

    Archie
    PS nice Bum !

  5. aangel braveheart says:

    I’m on the mountain side at this moment watching Dragons flying.

    Lovely.

    Wonderful Sim too.

    Thanks for the heads up -I think you will be my first blog subscription ever.

    AAngel

Leave a Reply

