And Then a New Bonnie

bonniebar7

I did a close beta test with a couple of people I know.  They both indicated (and the truth is I agree) that the Bonnie the Bartender story was the weakest.  Since none of you have seen the game, you don’t know what I am talking about. Basically, she is a bartender you pick up at the end of her shift, you go shoot some pool, some funny stuff happens, and then a totally expected twist ending happens, and then it ends abruptly.  The main reason it ends there is that I could not think of an appropriate GOOD ending that I already didn’t use with one of the other characters.

The sentiment of one of my testers is: 1.) She is not very interesting looking, 2.) We know very little about her, and what she says does not even seem honest, is she supposed to be good or bad?  The truth is I never spent much time on the Bonnie model, explaining problem 1, and maybe my writing skills aren’t that great explaining problem 2.

So as usual I gave it some thought, and decided: 1.) I need a new model, and 2.) I will use the badly defined nature of her character to my advantage. The new model is shown above. She used to look like this.  Gone is her undefined ethnicity and too simple and modest dress.  In its place is a pretty but stereotypical American.  None of the major characters are blonde, so I went with that.

bonniepool4

I left the not very revealing dialogue in. It is up to the reader to decide if she is good or bad, and in the pictures I did, there are signs of both.

This is all because of the brilliant idea I had: I may not be able to come up with an appropriate good ending, but I can think of a lot of appropriate BAD endings.  So there are now 10 endings to Bonnie’s story, some of which show her as a good girl, some as a bad girl, and the endings purposely contradict one another. (I’ll probably never return to this character, so it really does not matter which ending is the real one.)  Breaking the rules of the visual novel format; you have no choice which ending you are going to get.

With about 30 re-renders, and 20 new pictures, I believe I have added a whole new fun dimension to the story.

13 thoughts on “And Then a New Bonnie

  1. mautalent April 21, 2013 / 7:11 am

    That second picture is amazing, really like the new model

  2. arianeb April 22, 2013 / 6:08 pm

    Endings are reduced to 9. One of the endings was too lame and crossed into “things you should not talk about in a sex comedy” territory.

    • Gunslinger April 24, 2013 / 10:24 am

      Oglaf is proof you can talk about virtually ANYTHING in sex comedy =P

      • arianeb April 24, 2013 / 6:53 pm

        Yeah, if I did not care about offending anyone, I could go for it. Among my list of topics to avoid: jokes about body shapes, skin color, diseases, any form of sexual assault, etc. ETA: Jokes about “looks” are OK if they refer to dress, hairstyle, makeup, etc. as these are things that can easily be changed, in fact that is the plot of one of the stories in SITA.

  3. NightmareInLove April 23, 2013 / 3:36 am

    “you have no choice which ending you are going to get”

    That’s interesting, do you really have no choice? How is your ending defined if so? Or is it just really random?

    • arianeb April 24, 2013 / 6:43 pm

      The first play through, it is really random. Every time after that it cycles to the next possible ending, so to see all the endings, you just have to rewind the story a ways and then play the scene again 8 more times.

  4. Nick April 30, 2013 / 4:47 am

    arianeb :
    Yeah, if I did not care about offending anyone, I could go for it. Among my list of topics to avoid: jokes about body shapes, skin color, diseases, any form of sexual assault, etc. ETA: Jokes about “looks” are OK if they refer to dress, hairstyle, makeup, etc. as these are things that can easily be changed, in fact that is the plot of one of the stories in SITA.

    So I can’t grab boobs or yank towels off without permission? LAME!

  5. Simon April 30, 2013 / 11:38 am

    Dear God I went to the arianeb.com website and visited the SITA webpage, as a part of my “internet routine”.

    And then this page is all changed, with “download” etc and I was so excited… but then not😦

    You got me good, what an emotional rollercoaster.

    Hope everything goes on plan and that the game will be released soon!

  6. arianeb May 3, 2013 / 3:53 pm

    Sorry Simon, but hopefully very soon. One of the things on my “to do” lists before releasing is “build an official website”. So I built the infrastructure to a website for the game, and uploaded it for testing purposes, and decided to leave it there. Hopefully the download page will have actual links on it soon.

    • Simon May 3, 2013 / 4:03 pm

      No problem😀
      Just know I’m eager (and I am sure others too) to see it😀

      Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

    • balder289 May 4, 2013 / 12:33 pm

      Simon says; release this brilliant masterpiece of a game
      😀

  7. Gunslinger May 5, 2013 / 8:52 am

    arianeb :
    Yeah, if I did not care about offending anyone, I could go for it. Among my list of topics to avoid: jokes about body shapes, skin color, diseases, any form of sexual assault, etc. ETA: Jokes about “looks” are OK if they refer to dress, hairstyle, makeup, etc. as these are things that can easily be changed, in fact that is the plot of one of the stories in SITA.

    Even those can be funny if it’s vaguely satirical. For example, one partner asks the other to paint themselves blue because it’s their secret fetish. Partner #2 ridicules their preference for blue people, because the Partner #2 has a secret fetish for RED people. Extrapolate from there until you end up with a Skittles orgy.

Leave a Reply

